What happens when you reset Citrix Receiver?


Hello Folks,

Have you ever wondered what happens when Citrix Receiver is reset?  There are times when Receiver needs a bit of love and care from the Citrix admins. I came across an issue recently where I had to reset Receiver client and thought I should put this down on what gets removed and what gets retained for future reference.

Resetting Receiver to factory defaults removes the following items:

  • All accounts and stores.
  • All apps delivered by the Self-Service Plug-in, along with their icons and registry keys.
  • All file type associations created by the Self-Service Plug-in.
  • Cached files and saved passwords.
  • Per-user registry settings that are user preferences and, for per-machine installations, all user-specific registry settings.
  • NetScaler Gateway registry settings for Receiver.

 

Resetting Receiver does not impact the following items:

  • Receiver or Plug-in installation.
  • Per-machine ICA lockdown settings.
  • GPOs.

How do you reset Receiver?

CLI Method

You can also use the  command line interface to reset Receiver or try and create a script for the same:

“C:\Program Files (x86)\Citrix\ICA Client\SelfServicePlugin\CleanUp.exe” -cleanUser”

GUI Method

Right click the Receiver icon in the notification area and select Advanced Preferences

In the dialog, select Reset Receiver and click OK

receiver

Quick shout out to Trishanka Saikia from Citrix Technical Support for this info.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s